Part of the Glyn Academies Trust

Safeguarding

Glyn School recognises our moral and statutory responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of all students. We endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued. We are alert to the signs of abuse and neglect and follow our procedures to ensure that children receive effective support, protection and justice. Child protection forms part of our safeguarding responsibilities.

Glyn School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

This means that we have a Child Protection & Safeguarding Policy and procedures in place; these can be viewed on our website under the our school/policies section.  All staff (including supply staff, volunteers and governors) must ensure that they are aware of these procedures. 

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a student’s welfare.  We will ensure that our concerns about our students are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the student’s welfare.

Our dedicated safeguarding team can be emailed at safeguarding@glynschool.org

   

Louise Walker B

Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs L Walker, Associate Headteacher: l.walker@glynschool.org

 

KEJ

 Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs K Jones, Assistant Headteacher, Head of Year 7: k.jones@glynschool.org

 

 

Heidi Thompkins

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead - Sixth Form

Miss H Thompkins, Assistant Headteacher, Head of Sixth Form: h.thompkins@glynschool.org

 

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mr B Holloway, Lead Head of House: b.holloway@glynschool.org

 

 

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs E Gimson, PA to the Deputy Headteachers: e.gimson@glynschool.org

 

 

jackie

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs J Bennett, PA to the Sixth Form Leadership Team: j.bennett@glynschool.org

 

 

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead 

Mrs Wilson-David, Senior Learning Mentor: c.wilson-david@glynschool.org

 

 

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs R Regan, Senior Learning Mentor: r.regan@glynschool.org

 

 

 

Safeguarding Lead Governor  

Mr I Patterson: i.patterson.gov@glynschool.org

 

 

Other trained Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DDSLs):  Mr A Ward, Mr T Hayter, Mr R Lightfoot, Mrs L Strachan, Mrs L Wernick, Mrs J Fairbrother, Ms J Zimmermann, Mr K Sullivan.

If you are concerned about a child’s welfare, please record your concern, and any observations or conversations heard, and report to one of the Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSL) as soon as possible the same day.  Do NOT conduct your own investigation.

If your concerns relate to the actions or behaviour of a member of staff (which could suggest that s/he is unsuitable to work with children) then you should report this to one of the DSLs in confidence, who will refer the matter to the Headteacher or the Chair of Governors if the concern relates to the Headteacher, who will consider what action to take.  

 

Mr Matt Duffield, Acting Headteacher

January 2018